Skip to content

delishplan week “end” 64 & week 65

April 29, 2011
First and foremost, here’s the baby bump at 21 weeks:

21 weeks

Sigh. Pregnancy is the best. I just love it. I simply can’t wait to meet our little one.

Anyway, I’m being a little bit unconventional and posting a meal plan for the rest of week 64 (this week…end), and preparing in advance for next week (week 65). I have an extra challenge for the weekend in that Mr. Picky-Husband’s brother is visiting, and although not picky, he can’t eat cheese. It’s funny because I definitely don’t cook with cheese every night, but the SECOND I started looking for new recipes that don’t call for cheese (the best part of any meal I do have to say), there is absolutely nothing. Well, I’m used to a dinner challenge anyway, so what’s another ingredient to place on the black list (along with tomato anything, fruit flavored anything – yes that means no apricot glazed bbq chicken breasts, be still my beating heart – or basically anything with FLAVOR). 

I’m hosting a girls get together on Saturday night for my friend, C, who had a sweet baby girl just over 3 weeks ago. She is adament about not having an official baby shower (as this is her 2nd child), but I wanted to do a little something to honor her and baby Addison Dawn (CUTE!). And there may or may not be just one or two little shower games. I can’t resist, as cheesy as they are! Possibly the most exciting part of any baby “get together” is the food (well, besides the gifts, I mean, the company). I’ve asked friends to bring a plate of something light and fresh, whatever that means… they can interpret it however they want. I am making a Rocky Road No-Bake Cheesecake, which will look impressive (hopefully) but should only take me about 20 minutes to prepare. Hello. Perfection.

So let’s get to it, shall we?

Friday (tonight): We’re planning on meeting at West Edmonton Mall tonight (I’m dying to check out Zara’s Maternity section), but should be home for supper. Kevin’s mom packed a casserole in Kev’s brother’s suitcase (too funny), which was still frozen when he arrived last night. It’s been thawing overnight, and we’ll pop it in the oven for dinner tonight. I honestly didn’t even look to see what it was, and frankly, I don’t care – dinner’s ready!

Saturday: Sweet & Sour Meatballs over brown rice and steamed veggies

Sunday: BBQ Italian Chicken breasts with roasted baby potatoes & corn on the cob. I love a good Sunday lunch after church. Mmmm. Hungry.

Monday: Chicken Enchilladas (still on a salsa/sour cream kick… the baby can’t get enough). This works because I’ll bbq extra chicken the day before, and I can easily just add cheese on only half of the enchilladas. No prob bob. Plus my BIL leaves this evening, so it’s my last night to worry about no cheese. That wasn’t so hard.

Tuesday: Kev is away for the evening, and there’s no way I’m making a big dinner for me. I’ll make Couscous Stuffed Tomatoes… such a treat for me! Click on the link for the recipe.

Couscous Stuffed Tomatoes

Wednesday: hmm, I’m losing steam. Let’s call this breakfast for dinner night, and make eggs or waffles! Easy!

Thursday: I won’t be cooking because I have a massage booked right after work, and then we’re out for the evening. So it’s fend for yourself night! Love it.

Friday: One of our frozen Big Cook meals. Have I mentioned these are a life saver? Time well spent!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca meier permalink
    April 29, 2011 6:38 pm

    sounds like a great menu for the days ahead. Can i get the recipe for that no bake cheesecake?

    • May 4, 2011 1:25 pm

      it’s just another kraft recipe – check it out on kraft.ca 🙂

  2. May 1, 2011 5:13 pm

    it’s another kraft canada recipe! it’s on their website, but it’s not in a format that i can copy/paste the link…. look up desserts, and you should be able to find it there. it was great!

  3. May 3, 2011 3:10 am

    Hope your energy is back now! Good luck with no-cheese recipes. Once you know you can not put an ingredient, that starts showing up in every recipe 🙂

    • May 4, 2011 1:25 pm

      it’s so true! and i think my energy is back, FINALLY!!! woo hoo!

  4. May 3, 2011 7:08 am

    Awww! Baby bump!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

