Skip to content

delishplan week 66

May 8, 2011

Tulips Make Me Smile

I love spring. It was rather late coming this year on the Canadian Prairies, but now that it’s here, I am fully believing there will be no more snow on the ground until AT LEAST the end of September. One can hope. (I’m dead serious btw… living in Alberta, one should never be shocked to open their curtains one morning to three feet of snow on the ground, no matter what month it is. Even July is fair game. Okay, well, maybe not July, but May for sure. And at any moment during the month of September. Any moment. It’s coming for you). Anyhoo, this Mother’s Day Sunday was a glorious one, with rays of warmth from the beautiful sunshine and white puffy clouds in the sky. I missed most of the afternoon by having the most delightful nap. Perfection.

It’s Mother’s Day weekend (I basically spread most holidays/celebrations involving myself into weekend – or better yet, monthly – affairs), and this was a special one for me since our little bebe cakes is 23 weeks old growing inside of me. Although I’m not technically a mother yet, my husband made it a very special weekend, including bringing coffee to me in bed, an afternoon of shopping at all my favourite stores (Babies R Us, Chapters, and Walmart, who am I??), a treat from Starbucks, and we chose, bought, shoved and squeezed into the car, and, finally, returned a glider for the nursery (it was defective, grrr). We had a movie night, and watched “The King’s Speech” (um, loved it) and ate leftover pizza which I just CRAVE cold (one of my best moments in pregnancy so far was when Kevin had a late meeting and he brought me home leftover cold Ham and Pineapple pizza – pizza I would NEVER choose on my own – and I scarfed it down at around 10 pm at night. It was oh.SO.Good). He also took me out for lunch today. I have decided I rather like Mother’s Day (weekend)!

I am also beyond blessed to have two amazing mother’s in my life, my own Mom and my Mother-In-Law. They are amazing women, and I only wish I could spend more time with them. I am so thankful for them both.

Let’s get to this week’s meal plan, shall we?

Monday: Meatballs, Rice and something Green. I have been just CRAVING fresh fruits and veggies lately, so I’ll likely eat about 2.5 meatballs and a giant leafy salad.

Tuesday: Coconut Chicken with Apricot Sauce – click for recipe. (SIDE NOTE: Have you discovered Pinterest yet? Oh, my. I am obsessed. It’s basically like a massive virtual bookmarking site, that I “pin” any image I see on the internet that I want to remember, and categorize it, and it references me back to the original site the image came from. No more bookmarking things to my desktop! I have a meal planning category so anytime I see something I want to try, I “pin” it. I have also discovered some amazing blogs through it, including the blog that this recipe comes from. I have also become quite infatuated with home decor, and I am totally inspired to become a DIY lady, beyond construction paper and the glue gun. Love. Check it out).

Wednesday: BBQ Ranch Chicken Burgers w/ Bacon and Mozza Cheese – hello Lover.

Thursday: We our having our last Bible Study of the year at our house, and we’re providing snacks, so I’ll make something light for din-din, so that we can eat delightful appys all evening.

Friday: I’m out for the evening with girlfriends, and Kevin is at an all-day staff meeting, so we’re doing our own thing for dinner!

I hope you all had a special day/weekend as well, celebrating your own mothers, as well as being A LOT spoiled if you are a mother (or mother-to-be!).

What are you making for dinner this week?

Love, K.

23 weeks

23 weeks - growing, growing, growing

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 10:01 pm

    Oh.my.gosh. How CUTE are you?? Congratulations on your pregnancy! I hope you love the Coconut Chicken. It’s a regular in our household. 🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day! (And, yes, you ARE technically a mother now.) lol

  2. May 9, 2011 6:08 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day:) Next year, you will be with your little one 🙂 I am glad you took it easy over the weekend and napped! That is the only activity that makes it a weekend for me! (ok not much of an activity!)

  3. May 15, 2011 10:32 am

    Interesting to see your menu plan, its always interesting to know what other people eat! I used to do weekly menu’s but stopped for some unknown reason. Its great to plan

Leave a Reply

